[6] LENT 2024 | As I enter into prayer I ask for what I desire

(Traduzione in italiano ed albanese in fondo alla pagina – This blog post is also translated into Italian and Albanian – please scroll)

[6] LENT 2024 | As I enter into prayer I ask for what I desire

This is a suggestion we often come across in the Spiritual Exercises of St Ignatius. At different stages of the retreat he suggests that I ask for what I desire, with insistence. As I advance in the retreat, Ignatius suggests I ask for sorrow for my sins, for the strong desire to change, and later to know Jesus intimately so that I may love him more and follow him closely.  In contemplating the passion I ask to identify myself with the suffering Jesus, and then to share his joy when he rises again.

The genius lies not in suggesting what to ask for, but in suggesting that I ask for it. To ask for what I desire might at first seem a little confusing, or even contradictory, but if I succeed in following this advice I will gain an important insight. This prayer will challenge me to seek what my deepest desires are, not to stop at my superficial desires and dig deep in my heart to discover what I really desire. And then I pray to be granted the grace I desire.

I also realise that desiring alone is not enough to obtain what I’m seeking, I need to ask for it, to beg, to pray. In this way my prayer will become more personal, more focused. It will help me avoid the risk of reducing my prayer to a reflection on a text or to mere self-talk.

What do you seek?, the title of these Lenten reflections, is a crucial question that will always accompany us in our choices. Praying for what I desire will enable me to realise that even my desires are not totally of my own making, they are seeds planted in my heart by God himself, the one who made me in his image and likeness and with a natural attraction to what is good and holy. Like the two lovers of the Song of Songs, my heart seeks God and God seeks my heart.

In practice this is much easier than it sounds. When I enter into prayer I ask God for what I am seeking today: to be free, to grow in love, for wisdom, for greater trust. The list is endless. It will provide focus for my prayer – that is what I’m praying for today – and it will be like an anchor in distraction, for when my mind wanders I can come back to this fixed point.

AUDIO-VISUAL AID: With every post we share a music video or some other material which we hope will help you to enter into reflection. Today we bring you a song accompanying a short film entitled ‘Song of Solomon’ by Martin Smith. Song of Songs in the Bible is sometimes also called the Song of Solomon – a love story that beautifully illustrates the fact that there is something mystical in our deepest being… Through thick and thin ‘my heart seeks God and God seeks my heart.’

_________

[6] Entrando in preghiera chiedo ciò che desidero

Questo è un consiglio che troviamo spesso nel libretto degli Esercizi Spirituali di Sant’Ignazio. In diversi passaggi del ritiro egli suggerisce di chiedere ciò che desidero, con insistenza. Mentre procedo nel ritiro, Ignazio mi suggerisce di chiedere dolore per i miei peccati per rafforzare il desiderio di conversione, più avanti di conoscere intimamente Gesù per amarlo di più e seguirlo più da vicino. Contemplando la passione chiederò di identificarmi con Gesù sofferente e poi di condividere la gioia quando risorge.

La genialità non sta nel suggerire cosa chiedere, ma nel suggerire che lo chieda io. All’inizio chiedere ciò che desidero può sembrare un po’ disorientante, o addirittura contraddittorio, ma se riesco a seguire questo consiglio otterò una intuizione importante. Questa preghierà mi spinge a cercare quali sono i miei desideri più profondi: a non fermarmi ai desideri superficiali, ma a scavare profondamente nel mio cuore per scoprire cosa desidero davvero. E quindi pregherò che mi sia concessa la grazia che desidero.

Mi rendo inoltre conto che il solo desiderare non è sufficiente per ottenere ciò che cerco, ho bisogno di chiederlo, di implorare, di pregare. In questo modo la mia preghiera diverrà più personale, più centrata, e ciò mi aiuterà ad evitare il rischio di ridurre la mia preghiera ad una riflessione su un testo, o ad un monologo.

Che cosa cercate?, il titolo di queste riflessioni quaresimali, è una questione cruciale, che ci accompagnerà sempre nelle nostre scelte. Pregare per ciò che desidero mi permetterà anche di rendermi conto che i miei desideri non sono totalmente una cosa mia, sono semi piantati nel mio cuore da Dio stesso, da Colui che mi ha creato a sua immagine e somiglianza, con una connaturale attrazione a ciò che è buono e santo. Come i due amanti del Cantico dei Cantici, il mio cuore cerca Dio e Dio cerca il mio cuore.

In pratica tutto ciò è molto più semplice di come sembra. Quando entro in preghiera chiedo a Dio ciò che desidero oggi: essere libero, crescere nella capacità di amare, sapienza, maggior fede… La lista è infinita. Ciò darà una direzione alla mia preghiera – questo è ciò per cui prego oggi – e sarà un’ancora nella distrazione, perché quando la mia mente divagherà potrò ritornare a questo punto fisso.

_______

[6] Ndërsa hyj në lutje, kërkoj atë që dëshiroj

Ky është një sugjerim që e hasim shpesh në Ushtrimet Shpirtërore të Shën Injacit. Në faza të ndryshme të tërheqjes, ai më sugjeron të kërkoj atë që dëshiroj me këmbëngulje. Ndërsa përparoj në tërheqje, Injaci sugjeron të kërkoj të ndjej dhimbje për mëkatet e mia, të ndjej dëshirën e fortë për të ndryshuar dhe më vonë ta njoh Jezusin nga afër, në mënyrë që ta dua më shumë dhe ta ndjek nga afër. Duke soditur mundimet e tij, kërkoj të identifikohem me Jezusin që vuan dhe më pas të shperndaj gëzimin e tij kur ai të ringjallet.

Madheshtorja nuk qëndron në sugjerimin se çfarë të kërkoj, por në sugjerimin që unë ta kërkoj atë. Të kërkoj atë që dëshiroj në fillim mund të duket pak konfuze, apo edhe kontradiktore, por nëse arrij të ndjek këtë këshillë, do të arrij një pasqyrë të brendeshme të rëndësishme. Kjo lutje do të më sfidojë të kërkoj cilat janë dëshirat e mia më të thella, të mos ndalem në dëshirat e mia sipërfaqësore por të gërmoj thellë në zemrën time për të zbuluar atë që dëshiroj me të vërtetë. Dhe pastaj lutem që të më jepet hiri që dëshiroj.

E kuptoj gjithashtu se vetëm dëshira nuk mjafton për të marrë atë që po kërkoj, duhet ta kërkoj, të lutem për të. Në këtë mënyrë lutja ime do të bëhet më personale, më e fokusuar. Kjo do të më ndihmojë të shmang rrezikun e reduktimit të lutjes sime në një reflektim mbi një tekst ose në të folur thjesht me veten.

Çfarë kërkoni?, titulli i këtyre reflektimeve të kreshmës, është një pyetje vendimtare që do të na shoqërojë gjithmonë në zgjedhjet tona. Lutja për atë që dëshiroj do të më mundësojë të kuptoj se edhe dëshirat e mia nuk janë tërësisht të bëra nga unë, ato janë fara të mbjella në zemrën time nga vetë Zoti, ai që më bëri në shëmbëlltyrën dhe ngjashmërinë e tij dhe me një tërheqje të natyrshme ndaj asaj që është e mirë dhe e shenjtë. Si dy të dashuruarit e Këngës së Këngëve, zemra ime kërkon Zotin dhe Zoti kërkon zemrën time.

Në praktikë kjo është shumë më e lehtë se sa duket. Kur hyj në lutje, i kërkoj Zotit atë që kërkoj edhe sot: të jem i lirë, të rritem në dashuri, urtësi , për më shumë fe etj . Lista është e pafund. Ajo do të sigurojë fokus për lutjen time – për të cilën edhe po lutem sot – dhe do të jetë si një spirancë në shpërqendrim, sepse kur mendja ime endet, mund të kthehem në këtë pikë fikse.

 

2 thoughts on “[6] LENT 2024 | As I enter into prayer I ask for what I desire

  1. I am following these lenten reflectios with interest but I am sorry to say I am not being able to access the audio visual aid provided.. For example this reflection had nothing attached to it . This has been the case on other ocassions.

    Like

Leave a comment